#5 Prince of Thorns

When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were killed before him. At thirteen, he led a band of bloodthirsty thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king.

It’s time for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been driven to vent his rage.

Life and death are no more than a game to him and he has nothing left to lose. But treachery awaits him in his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic. No matter how fierce his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?

The Review

I got my filthy hands of the book yesterday and I’m done now. So that’s good. I found it to be really easy to get into – the learning curve is almost non-existent. The protagonist is out for blood, and will stop at nothing. Go.

I liked the story – though there wasn’t all that much of it. I *loved* the setting, which I can’t give away but I’m definitely looking to see more of the world in the next books.
The best part were the dialogues though. It seems Mark Lawrence spent a few months coming up with awesome, epic, quotable quotes, then wrote a book around them.

The brutality and immorality of Jorg was mostly tell and not show. We’re told repeatedly that he’s a really horrible kid, but I never saw anything like that. The Boltons from ASOIAF, for example, make him look like a stand up guy. As for his companions – or brothers – they were mostly cardboard cutouts. I never bothered to remember who was who. And that seems a bit of an issue for all characters. They felt really one dimensional. The evil wizards, the wise tutor, the cold hearted king…

The only one that seemed to have any depth was Jorg, which might be because we see the world through his eyes. I liked his antics, especially a certain scene in the throne room.

The Verdict :

All in all, I’d say I give it 4 stars. Though some of that comes from my hope that with setup done in book 1, the next books reveal more of the world and the setting – which I’ll say again, I *loved*.

My Rating : 4/5

Leave a Reply

